Enable multiple probes with wildcards

Questions about YourKit Java Profiler
Post Reply
jensm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 6:47 pm

Enable multiple probes with wildcards

Post by jensm »

Hello all,

I'm currently programming some probes for the Java YoutKit profiler to profile
some party of Eclipse.

To start I created two probes (just to give it a try) with the name MyProbe1 and MyProbe2.
With

Code: Select all

-agentpath:.../libyjpagent.jnilib=probe_on=MyProbe1,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar
I get MyProbe1 working and with

Code: Select all

-agentpath:.../libyjpagent.jnilib=probe_on=MyProbe1,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar
I get MyProbe2 working. I think I will have more than just two probes, so I
try to enable both with a wildcard, as described in
(see also https://www.yourkit.com/docs/java/help/ ... probes.jsp)

But I did not get both with a wildcard working. I tried:

Code: Select all

-agentpath:.../libyjpagent.jnilib=probe_on=*,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar
Then I move them to a package with name probes and try:

Code: Select all

-agentpath:.../libyjpagent.jnilib=probe_on=probes.*,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar
-agentpath:.../libyjpagent.jnilib=probe_on=probes.My*,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar
With both parameters I did not get them working. Even I did not see them in the Profiler.

Is there a way to enable several probes with a simple parameter or can I define
a startup method, where I can register my probes. I have to do this from outside
the application. I can't add the probes to the application classpath and register
them from there :(

Java...: 1.8.0_111 64-bit
YoutKit: 2016.02-b45
OS.....: Mac OS X

Any help is welcome. Thanks in advanced.

Best Regards,

Jens
Anton Katilin
Posts: 6172
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Enable multiple probes with wildcards

Post by Anton Katilin »

Hi Jens

Custom probes cannot be enabled with a wildcard. Instead, their class names should be specified in full and explicitly.

So, please try probe_on=MyProbe1,probe_on=MyProbe2,probebootclasspath=.../probes.jar

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
Posts: 6172
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Enable multiple probes with wildcards

Post by Anton Katilin »

P.S. Please note that probes implemented as inner classes are enumerated.

For example, if you have an outer class MyProbes with inner classes Probe1 and Probe2, "probe_on=MyProbes" should load Probe1 and Probe2. Please see source code of the built-in probes - many of them use this approach.
Post Reply