Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby sandeep » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:50 am

I'm using the following command:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 8006 for .NET\bin\profiler.exe" -export "C:\YourkitHome\Snapshots\PresentationFontCache.exe-2012-11-10(1).snapshot" "C:\Users\HP\Desktop\e"

The command returns immediately without any error message without exporting though the snapshot file opens up with YourKit UI
sandeep
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:08 pm

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:45 am

Hi,

This is due to an exception. It will be fixed in next build.

We'll also add a dedicated batch file export-snapshot.bat to perform the operation.

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:36 pm

Build 8008 with the fix is available for download:
http://www.yourkit.com/dotnet/eap/

Please note that now the command should look like:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 8008 for .NET\bin\export-snapshot.bat" "C:\YourkitHome\Snapshots\PresentationFontCache.exe-2012-11-10(1).snapshot" "C:\Users\HP\Desktop\e"
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby sandeep » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:19 pm

C:\Windows\system32>"C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 800
8 for .NET\bin\export-snapshot.bat" "C:\YourkitHome\Snapshots\PresentationFontCa
che.exe-2012-11-10(1).snapshot" "C:\Users\HP\Desktop\e"
The system cannot find the path specified.
Press any key to continue . . .

I'm getting an error while trying out the command and I did confirm both paths exist
sandeep
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:08 pm

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:48 pm

There is an error in the paths you specify.

Please do exactly the same as you were doing when composing the original (the very first) command line in this topic, but with the newest build 8008 paths.

The only difference in the command line which I suggested is using export-snapshot.bat instead of 'profiler.exe -export'
However, you can also use the 'profiler.exe -export' approach - it's the same.

So, please check the command line. Everything should work.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby sandeep » Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:15 am

C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 8008 for .NET\bin>export
-snapshot.bat "C:\YourkitHome\Snapshots\PresentationFontCache.exe-2012-11-10(1).
snapshot" "C:\Users\HP\Desktop\e"
[YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 8008 for .NET] Log file: C:\YourkitHome\.ynp\l
og\7804.log
Press any key to continue . . .

If I change the current directory to the directory where export-snapshot.bat resides, it works as expected, but if I try to execute the batch script using this(where system32 is the current working directory):
C:\Windows\system32>"C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 8.0.0 EAP build 800
8 for .NET\bin\export-snapshot.bat" "C:\YourkitHome\Snapshots\PresentationFontCa
che.exe-2012-11-10(1).snapshot" "C:\Users\HP\Desktop\e"
The system cannot find the path specified.
Press any key to continue . . .

I think in the batch script you are not taking into account that the script could get executed from another directly as cwd.

Nevertheless, the profiler.exe -export works fine in both situations
sandeep
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:08 pm

Re: Export not working in EAP build 8006 of yourkit 8

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:25 am

You are absolutely right: the script requires its directory to be the working directory.

We'll correct the script in the next build.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to .NET Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest