Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Cannot connect to Local application

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:05 pm

Could you please try version 2.0.3 at http://www.yourkit.com/dotnet/download/

Does it fix the problem?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby DJarrin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:26 pm

You guys rock! The new 2.0.3 version fixes the problems I was seeing. I am able to take memory snapshots every time now when launching either outside or inside Visual Studio. Thank you VERY MUCH for your kind and quick response. :D

While I have your attention... The only question I have left is why I can never "display" or open a source file from the Profiler UI. Whether launched from Visual Studio or not I always get an error. I came across the following in the vs-plugin.log:

[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] System.ArgumentException: A Command with that name already exists.
at EnvDTE80.Commands2.AddNamedCommand2(AddIn AddInInstance, String Name, String ButtonText, String Tooltip, Boolean MSOButton, Object Bitmap, Object[]& ContextUIGUIDs, Int32 vsCommandStatusValue, Int32 CommandStyleFlags, vsCommandControlType ControlType)
at YourKit200701311426.VSPlugin.OnConnection(Object application, ext_ConnectMode connectMode, Object addInInst, Array& custom)
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] System.ArgumentException: A Command with that name already exists.
at EnvDTE80.Commands2.AddNamedCommand2(AddIn AddInInstance, String Name, String ButtonText, String Tooltip, Boolean MSOButton, Object Bitmap, Object[]& ContextUIGUIDs, Int32 vsCommandStatusValue, Int32 CommandStyleFlags, vsCommandControlType ControlType)
at YourKit200701311426.VSPlugin.OnConnection(Object application, ext_ConnectMode connectMode, Object addInInst, Array& custom)
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException: Exception from HRESULT: 0x80042005
at EnvDTE.TextPoint.TryToShow(vsPaneShowHow How, Object PointOrCount)
at YourKit200701311426.VSPlugin.tryToShow(CodeElement codeType)
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] No field code type: control
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.3 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.3 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.2 for .NET] VS Plugin connected
[YourKit Profiler 2.0.3 for .NET] No field code type: _target
DJarrin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:31 pm

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:39 pm

Could you please make sure the version 2.0.2 of the profiler is deinstalled. Possibly there are some caching issue at the VS side.

If simply deinstalling 2.0.2 doesn't help, please install 2.0.3 again. This will cause plugin reinstalling.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby DJarrin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:51 pm

I uninstalled both Profiler versions. Then reinstalled version 2.0.3. Now I don't even get the Visual Studio button to start the Profiler from the IDE. Very strange. I cannot reboot my machine at this time. I can report back next week (under a new topic perhaps) if I cannot get it to work.

Thanks again for your help!
DJarrin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:31 pm

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:02 pm

I don't think rebooting the machine is necessary.

Instead, restarting VS would help.

The VS plugin is installed when you install the profiler: a registry entry pointing to the plugin files is created, and VS reads it on startup. If at the moment of the profiler installation VS is running, VS will not pick up the changes until it is restarted.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby DJarrin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:15 pm

I am sorry. I forgot to mention that I did restart Visual Studio but no luck. I made sure that Tools/Add-in Manager... has the enabling checkmarks for the Profiler. I restarted Visual Studio a couple of times and nothing. I also made sure that there was no rogue devenv.exe running in my system before I restarted the IDE. Because I had tried these things is that I thought maybe a reboot is in order. I will still try rebooting as soon as I get a chance.
DJarrin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:31 pm

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:26 pm

Very strange. We have never seen such problems before.

Could you please let us know after rebooting whether it helps.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby DJarrin » Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:37 pm

Will do. Thank you again.
DJarrin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:31 pm

Previous

Return to .NET Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests