Filtering methods

Questions about YourKit .NET Profiler
Post Reply
feal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Filtering methods

Post by feal »

A problem i've encountered after beta testing the new 4.5 version (i tried yesterday for the first time, I don't know if the problem is still there even with older versions) is that :

Let's assume we have a library named Alpha in the namespace Std.
Let's assume that we have another class named Beta in the namespace Std2.
Let's assume that Beta use some methods from Alpha. (Used LOTS of time (> 500000 every second)).

We have a similiar call tree

Std.XXX.Call (1600 calls)
Std.Alpha.Call(480000 calls)
Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)

I want to filter every call coming from Alpha. (as they are too heavy for the profiler to handle and create false results due to overhead)
I use as filter "Std2.Beta.*, Std.Alpha.*" . But everything continue to appear into the profiled app.

Any clues about why?
feal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Filtering methods

Post by feal »

mhn....the forum broken my formatting the call tree is :

Code: Select all

Std.XXX.Call (1600 calls)
    Std.Alpha.Call(480000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
    Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
    Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
    Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
feal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Filtering methods

Post by feal »

Ok i hate myself, i posted again wrongly. :D

Code: Select all

Std.XXX.Call (1600 calls)
    Std.Alpha.Call(480000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
             Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
             Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
         Std2.Beta.Call(160000 calls)
             Std.Alpha.Call(160000 calls)
P.S. Why there isn't an edit function in the forum? :P
feal
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Filtering methods

Post by feal »

Managed to understand why. I had to specify only the class name, not the wildcard .*
Anton Katilin
Posts: 6172
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Filtering methods

Post by Anton Katilin »

Hello,

Yes, only class names should be specified, not method names. In class and namespace names, wildcards are allowed.

Best regards,
Anton
Post Reply