Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

No applications show up to monitor

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:59 am

feal wrote:I've resolved everything by removing all the environment variables regarding Yourkit from the registry, it seems that they were the problem in the first place. Thanks for your help.


Would you mind posting what those registry keys/values were? I am still dead in the water and am unable to evaluate YourKit.
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:43 am

Please try to do two experiments:

1)
- Delete all log files in %USER_HOME%\.ynp\log directory
- Start demo application from "Welcome" screen. If it will not appear in "monitor" section, please close demo application and send us _all_ log files.

2) Try to follow instructions at http://www.yourkit.com/docs/net40/help/ ... remote.jsp to enable profiling via OR_PROFILER and COR_ENABLE_PROFILING environment variables.
Will demo application appear in "monitor" section after OS reboot?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:21 pm

Vladimir Kondratyev wrote:1)
- Delete all log files in %USER_HOME%\.ynp\log directory
- Start demo application from "Welcome" screen. If it will not appear in "monitor" section, please close demo application and send us _all_ log files.


I did this and emailed the log files to support@yourkit.com on 6/27 and have not received a response.

2) Try to follow instructions at http://www.yourkit.com/docs/net40/help/ ... remote.jsp to enable profiling via OR_PROFILER and COR_ENABLE_PROFILING environment variables.
Will demo application appear in "monitor" section after OS reboot?


I will try this step and let you know the results.
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:42 pm

I see in the log files that profiler agent is successfully hooked into the CLR.

[ 0.005] getStartupStringOption(YNP_WALLTIMESPEC_PATH):
[ 0.006] env=C:\Users\Grant\.ynp\config\.walltime
[ 0.232] agent is listening on port 62115


Please try to

1) delete all the logs
2) Launch demo application
3) Open log and find "agent is listening on port XXXXX" string
4) Go "File | Connect to Remote Application..." and use localhost:XXXX, where XXX is port value from log file.
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:35 pm

When I followed your instructions I get "There's no application running at localhost with profile agent configured to listen on port 50553", which was the port it was supposedly listening on. What should I try next?
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:56 pm

This is _definitely_ fire-wall issue. Profiler agent prints message that it listens port 50553. UI tries to connect to the port and fails. Do you have fire-wall or antiviral software which might prevent port communication?

We have just released version 4.0.5 http://www.yourkit.com/dotnet/download/ It has better error handling and always tries to use ports from default range 10001-10010. Does it work better for you?

What is the output of netstat command when demo application runs with profiler agent?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:42 pm

Still having the same issue with 4.0.5. I do have Windows Firewall running but set up an inbound rule for profile.exe to allow access to all ports and all protocols. AFAIK that's the only firewall software I have running. I do have CA Antivirus running, but that shouldn't affect the ports, should it?
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:13 pm

Also, I am experiencing the same issue even when I disable the Windows Firewall in the Domain, Private, AND Public profiles.
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:15 pm

set up an inbound rule for profile.exe to allow access to all ports and all protocols


There are two side of communication. Please ensure the port is enabled for the profiled application too.

I do have CA Antivirus running, but that shouldn't affect the ports, should it?


It could. Please try disabling it.

Anyway, there is definitely some software or settings which prevent socket communication on your machine.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5576
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:32 pm

A followup:

I never did get YourKit Profiler to work... until today. The issue for me was not the firewall at all. It turned out to be my hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts) that was causing the problem. I had this:

::1 localhost

but changed it to this:

127.0.0.1 localhost
# Causes problems when using localhost
#::1 localhost

and now the profiler is able to find .Net apps. Just thought you'd want to know.
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:50 pm

That's great that you found the reason of the problem. Actually the upcoming version of YourKit .NET Profiler http://www.yourkit.com/dotnet/eap/ better detects running .NET applications. It even can detect .NET applications which run without YourKit profiler agent. We are recommending to take a look at new version.
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Previous

Return to .NET Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests