Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

No applications show up to monitor

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Stellan » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:43 pm

I have the same problem. I have reinstalled YourKit but that didn't solve the problem.

Below is the content of the log file that was created when starting the demo application. I tried to connect to the application using localhost:49683 but that did not work.

[YourKit Profiler 3.0.8 for .NET]
OS: Windows Vista 6.0
CLR: v2.0.50727
'C:\Program Files\YourKit Profiler 3.0.8 for .NET\samples\demo\demo.exe' started 28.4.2009 at 22:25
[ 0.005] getStartupStringOption(YNP_IGNORE_LIST):
[ 0.006] env is NULL
[ 0.006] returning *hphc_service*
OD2Media*
ssmsee.exe
*\Microsoft Visual Studio *\*

[ 0.008] getStartupStringOption(YNP_FILTERS_PATH):
[ 0.009] env=C:\Users\Stellan\.ynp\config\.filters
[ 0.270] agent is listening on port 49683

Best regards
Stellan
Stellan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Stellan » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:53 pm

I forgot to mention that the Windows Firewall is off.
Stellan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Tobbe » Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:06 am

Stellan wrote:I forgot to mention that the Windows Firewall is off.


Hi Stellan, make sure you have the .NET versions installed before you install the profiler. The order was important for me to get it to work. The profiler setup does not have prerequisites for .NET. So:
- Install .NET
- Install yourkit
Tobbe
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:08 am

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Stellan » Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:06 am

Hi Tobbe.
Thanks for your reply.

The .Net framework was installed before I installed YourKit so that should not be the problem. The frameworks that I have installed are 1.1, 2.0 and 3.5.

When YourKit is started and I start a .Net application the .Net application runs very slow so it seems like YourKit is profiling the app.
Stellan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:55 pm

Please try to do the following steps:

1) Start profiler and start demo application.
2) Go to %USER_HOME%\.ynp\log directory and open profiler agent log file
3) File string like "agent is listening on port 49683" and remember exact port number
4) Run "File | Connect to Remote Application..." and use "localhost:49683" (of course, you need to exact port number from log file.

Does it work?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Stellan » Sat May 02, 2009 10:27 pm

I tried to connect to the demo application by following your steps and it doesn't work.

Log file:
[YourKit Profiler 3.0.8 for .NET]
OS: Windows Vista 6.0
CLR: v2.0.50727
'C:\Program Files\YourKit Profiler 3.0.8 for .NET\samples\demo\demo.exe' started 3.5.2009 at 0:12
[ 0.005] getStartupStringOption(YNP_IGNORE_LIST):
[ 0.005] env is NULL
[ 0.006] returning *hphc_service*
OD2Media*
ssmsee.exe
*\Microsoft Visual Studio___ *\*

[ 0.009] getStartupStringOption(YNP_FILTERS_PATH):
[ 0.010] env=C:\Users\Stellan\.ynp\config\.filters
[ 0.337] agent is listening on port 51958


The following message is shown when trying to connect to the demo app.
"There's no application running at localhost with profiler agent configured to listen on port 51958."
Stellan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Mon May 04, 2009 7:16 pm

It looks like a firewall issue. Do you have any installed antiviral software which may block ports?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Stellan » Mon May 04, 2009 10:39 pm

I don't have any anti virus software installed and the Windows firewall is disabled. I used to have Avira AntiVir installed but I uninstalled it a while ago.
Stellan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Tue May 05, 2009 10:12 am

That's strange. This is plain socket communication. Are there any security restrictions which may prevent TCP/IP socket communication on your machine? Are you running profiler as privilege user?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Granticus » Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:32 am

I am attempting to evaluate your profiler and am running into the same issue even with the demo app. I have read the posts above and tried disabling the Windows Firewall (I have no other firewalls in place) and also tried adding an exception to the firewall to allow the profiler.exe to accept communication on all incoming ports and for all protocols.

Here is the info from the log file:
[YourKit Profiler 4.0.2 for .NET]
OS: Windows Vista 6.0
CLR: v2.0.50727
'C:\Program Files (x86)\YourKit Profiler 4.0.2 for .NET\samples\demo\demo.exe' started 20.6.2009 at 23:9
[ 0.003] getStartupStringOption(YNP_IGNORE_LIST):
[ 0.003] env is NULL
[ 0.004] returning NULL (1)
[ 0.006] getStartupStringOption(YNP_FILTERS_PATH):
[ 0.006] env=C:\Users\Grant\.ynp\config\.filters
[ 0.007] getStartupStringOption(YNP_WALLTIMESPEC_PATH):
[ 0.007] env=C:\Users\Grant\.ynp\config\.walltime
[ 0.239] agent is listening on port 59389

[ 77.756] Shutting down...
[ 77.764] Shutdown: sampler thread finished

Your help file has no information about troubleshooting nor anything about firewall settings. What else can I try?
Granticus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:15 am
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby feal » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:48 pm

Same identical problem as the others, i'm trying to evaluate the software, but no applications show up to monitor. Not even the demo app work.

I'm over a Vista machine with .NET Framework 3.5. I've tried reinstalling the software and I've tried reinstalling first the .net framework and then the software. (i have no firewall active, not even windows firewall)

Any clues?
feal
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:30 pm

Please try to do two experiments:

1)
- Delete all log files in %USER_HOME%\.ynp\log directory
- Start demo application from "Welcome" screen. If it will not appear in "monitor" section, please close demo application and send us _all_ log files.

2) Try to follow instructions at http://www.yourkit.com/docs/net40/help/ ... remote.jsp to enable profiling via OR_PROFILER and COR_ENABLE_PROFILING environment variables.
Will demo application appear in "monitor" section after OS reboot?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby feal » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:56 pm

The second suggestion worked, now i can evaluate the software. Thanks.
feal
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby feal » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:59 pm

feal wrote:The second suggestion worked, now i can evaluate the software. Thanks.

I correct myself, only the demo application works. :D
feal
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: No applications show up to monitor

Postby feal » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:12 pm

I've resolved everything by removing all the environment variables regarding Yourkit from the registry, it seems that they were the problem in the first place. Thanks for your help.
feal
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:38 pm

PreviousNext

Return to .NET Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests