Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Netbeans 8.0.2

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby JavaLover » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:53 am

Hi guys,

I'm using the latest version of YourKit Java Profiler (build 14114). Currently the integration with latest version of Netbeans (83.0.1 or 8.0.2) is not working. When I want to integrate, I got the "integration successful" but in fact nothing happened in netbeans..

Any ideas when the integration will be possible? Or maybe this is a bug I don't know..
JavaLover
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:51 am

Re: Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:34 pm

We cannot reproduce the problem. The integration works just fine for us.

Please ensure you have run the "Integrate with IDE" wizard from the profiler UI after installing the new NetBeans version.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby JavaLover » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:14 am

Well I did but nothing shows up in Netbeans..
Also note that I launch my Netbeans with a "--cachedir D:\\place" option in order to store all the cache in another drive system than the installation, could that a source of problem?

Anyway, is there a log somewhere of YourKit Java profiler so that I could maybe see the debug log when doing the Netbeans integration?
JavaLover
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:51 am

Re: Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:39 pm

could that a source of problem?
Yes. What is the content of <NetBeans directory>\etc\netbeans.conf ?

Anyway, please try running NetBeans without --cachedir to see if this solves the problem.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby JavaLover » Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:55 am

Hi,

Sorry for the late answer I was not noticed by email..

So your answer gave me some hints. I was having indeed this in my Netbeans.conf
Code: Select all
netbeans_default_userdir="${DEFAULT_USERDIR_ROOT}/8.0.1"
netbeans_default_cachedir="${DEFAULT_CACHEDIR_ROOT}/8.0.1"


And I was launching Netbeans with
Code: Select all
--userdir D:\Netbeans --cachedir D:\Netbeans\Cache


So when I removed the "--userdir" I saw the your kit profiler. So I removed the
Code: Select all
--userdir D:\Netbeans --cachedir D:\Netbeans\Cache
from the launcher of Netbeans. And instead I modified the netbeans.conf to :
Code: Select all
netbeans_default_userdir="D:\Netbeans"
netbeans_default_cachedir="D:\Netbeans\Cache"


And then I launched the Your kit profiler, did the IDE integration again and now it's working!

So thank you for your answers!
Keep up the good work
JavaLover
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:51 am

Re: Netbeans 8.0.2

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:30 pm

Hi,

Thank you for sharing your solution.

Indeed, the wizard parses netbeans.conf and replaces ${DEFAULT_USERDIR_ROOT} with appropriate value. The wizard of course cannot predict what --userdir you will specify in the future, and whether you will use this command line option at all.

So your solution to explicitly put the actual values in netbeans.conf is great and likely the only possible one in this situation.

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5705
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], natnaelg and 16 guests