Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Why does the "Calculate exact retained sizes" keep stopping?

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Why does the "Calculate exact retained sizes" keep stopping?

Postby jdahms » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:16 pm

When I click "Calculate exact retained sizes" in the "Class List", it runs for a few seconds and then stops and I have to click "Continue calculation".

What I'd really like to do is click "Calculate exact retained sizes", go for a coffee, and see that it's done when I return. The way the UI works now, I have to stay at my computer and click "Continue calculation" again and again and again and again. In fact on a large heap dump I've clicked it dozens of times and it still doesn't finish.

This strikes me as a very bad UI design. There is already a "Stop" button there. If I wanted the calculation to stop, I'd click stop!

I saw forum posts about this years ago.

Why hasn't it been fixed?
jdahms
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: Why does the "Calculate exact retained sizes" keep stopp

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:24 am

It usually makes no sense to calculate exact size for all classes. Instead, only the top few percents are of interest.
If you are interested in the exact size of a particular class you can get it by demand via Quick info.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Why does the "Calculate exact retained sizes" keep stopp

Postby Clasmir » Fri Nov 07, 2014 9:27 pm

You should change the UI for this in two ways:

1) Remove the logic that stops after a certain number.
2) Add feedback that indicates how far it has processed. "Processed 132 of 3081"

In my use case I'm having the retained Size shift the order by significant amounts as I walk through the list, clicking over and over again. Not always, but enough that makes me question whether I should click just one more time to see if something interesting shifts up.

Having the ability to walk away and stop/resume as the OP suggests would be ideal.

Now.. perhaps as I learn more about the product and the REAL significance of this data hits home, I'll realize that it really isn't that important. But that's really not the point. When you are working on usability, you have to take into consideration that users don't have your understanding of what's really important and what's not.

/cheers
Clasmir
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: Why does the "Calculate exact retained sizes" keep stopp

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:24 am

Hi Clasmir

We think that calculation of exact retained sizes for all classes is nothing but a waste of time, and we do not want to offer users easy tools to do wrong things.

Nevertheless, those who what to do this anyway may use the -Dexact.retained.size.min.count=<minimal count to process> workaround. Please note the new settings file location in my recent comment:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6318#p19876

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5651
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests