Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET Framework.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, Bamboo, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant and JUnit.

How to profile high "system" cpu usage

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

How to profile high "system" cpu usage

Postby ophir.salt » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:03 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to profile JVM (scala) process. The cpu telemetry windows show a very high "system" cpu usage (up to 40%).
How can I dive deeper into the system cpu usage in order to figure out what's going on?
Also, and probably related - how can I see cpu usage on Java system calls such as reading from sockets and deciphering ssl?

Notes:
Profiling is done via cli (remote process, no UI).
ophir.salt
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: How to profile high "system" cpu usage

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:06 am

Hi,

The profiler does not collect information about processes other than the process being profiled. The system CPU usage is obtained from the system as a number and shown as is, with no further detail. To see what other processes do on the system please use corresponding tools like "top".

For detail on the profiled JVM activities please use CPU profiling e.g. CPU sampling. I believe that the "Java system calls" you refer to happen inside the process being profiled and this is accounted to the process CPU usage. In the sampling results you'll see what calls use the CPU.

Important: since you are interested in CPU usage please consider measuring wall time for all methods when sampling: https://www.yourkit.com/docs/java/help/ ... ttings.jsp

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 6007
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: How to profile high "system" cpu usage

Postby ophir.salt » Mon Oct 26, 2020 2:04 pm

Thank you!
Is there a way to change the wall time settings for an agent controlled by the cli?
ophir.salt
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: How to profile high "system" cpu usage

Postby Anton Katilin » Mon Oct 26, 2020 3:16 pm

Yes. Please see the "Configuration file" section:
https://www.yourkit.com/docs/java/help/ ... ttings.jsp
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 6007
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

YourKit uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from.

By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies in accordance with the Privacy Policy.