Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET Framework.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, Bamboo, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant and JUnit.

IDE Configuration change

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

IDE Configuration change

Postby silicon » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:54 pm

Hi,

I am trying to change the IDE configuration in yourkit to a new installed IDE after using it with another IDE before. I am on Mac version 2020.9-b405.
I used to be integrated with Intellij but now want to change to netbeans.
Because the old IDE is deleted I just get an error IDE cannot open method, but I don't get the configuration pane to select the new IDE.
In the settings menu item I also don't find a sections for IDE integration.
So how can I get around this?
I tried reinstalling the app but that kept all the settings (which I want for everything but ide integration).

Thank you
Samuel
silicon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:45 pm

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 4:14 pm

Hi Samuel

Please run "Profile from within IDE" from the profiler's Welcome screen and choose NetBeans in the wizard.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby silicon » Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:03 pm

Hi Anton,

maybe I wasn't clear enough. I am trying to open a src file in the IDE from yourkit (F7 or tools -> open in IDE).
While integrating with the IDE works as you describe (that install the plugin in the new IDE), it does not change which IDE yourkit uses to open a file via Tools -> Open in IDE.
The first time I used this function I got a popup similar to the install plugin popup where I could choose my IDE. So how do I get that popup back?
silicon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:45 pm

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:32 pm

https://www.yourkit.com/docs/java/help/netbeans.jsp
Do you see the panel shown in the section "Plugin installation"?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby silicon » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:09 pm

Yes I see that panel to install the plugin in the IDE so one can start the profiler from the IDE. I could install the plugin and see the Yourkit Icon in my netbeans IDE.
But this is not what I am trying to do.
I want to right click a file name I see in a trace in yourkit and have it open the file in the editor at the right line (so the other way around then what the plugin does).
Tools -> Open in IDE.

The first time I did this I got a similar panel as you describe to choose the IDE to open.
I need to be able to change the IDE that yourkit uses to open the file as I switched IDE's.
Yourkit keeps remembering the old IDE that is no longer there and just gives an error.
I don't see anywhere else where I can configure this setting.
silicon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:45 pm

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:23 pm

What is the content of the file ~/.yjp/ide2020_9.txt ?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:26 pm

Another question: do you run IntelliJ IDEA, NetBeans and YourKit under the same user profile?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:28 pm

What is the output of the following commands?

ls ~/.yjp/yjp_ide*
cat ~/.yjp/yjp_ide*
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:44 pm

If you still also run IntelliJ IDEA, please manually uninstall the profiler plugin from within IDEA to ensure it doesn't load and does not receive the navigation requests instead of NetBeans. Let NetBeans be the only IDE with the plugin installed.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5983
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: IDE Configuration change

Postby silicon » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:52 pm

Hi,

just closing Intellij fixed the problem.
Thanks for the suggestion. I have been going nuts on this all day :)

Have a nice weekend
silicon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:45 pm


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

YourKit uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from.

By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies in accordance with the Privacy Policy.