Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Cannot connect to profiler from UI

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Cannot connect to profiler from UI

Postby LockiStrike » Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:45 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to YourKit and I tried to add profiler to my java application (I running my application inside docker container) following this guide https://www.yourkit.com/docs/java/help/docker.jsp . As far as I see everything goes well, no errors in logs and I can open url on port chosen for profiler Image, also there is a found application in UI Image (CPU load changes from 0 to some value)
But when I connect to this profiler I see no recorded data, and a message
Local application "PropertiesLauncher" at port localhost:10011 has terminated or connection is lost


Please can you help me with this problem?

I added profiler by this java parameter
Code: Select all
-agentpath:/usr/local/YourKit-JavaProfiler-2019.8/bin/linux-x86-64/libyjpagent.so=port=10011,listen=all


Code added to Dockerfile:
Code: Select all
RUN wget https://www.yourkit.com/download/docker/YourKit-JavaProfiler-2019.8-docker.zip -P /tmp/ \
    && unzip /tmp/YourKit-JavaProfiler-2019.8-docker.zip -d /usr/local \
    && rm /tmp/YourKit-JavaProfiler-2019.8-docker.zip


Thank you in advance.
LockiStrike
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:49 am

Re: Cannot connect to profiler from UI

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Thu Jan 09, 2020 2:02 pm

Please send log of profiler agent ( from ~/.yjp/log/ directory ) to [email protected]
Agent prints full path to log file in console when it starts.

Best regards,
Vladimir Kondratyev
YourKit GmbH
http://www.yourkit.com
"Don't get lost in data, get information!"
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: Cannot connect to profiler from UI

Postby Anton Katilin » Thu Jan 09, 2020 4:27 pm

Update: the problem has been solved.

The problem was that the hostname inside the container matched the hostname of the machine hosting docker.

It was solved by overriding the hostname with the help of the "--hostname" parameter of the "docker run" command.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

YourKit uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from.

By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies in accordance with the Privacy Policy.