Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable"

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable"

Postby JimF » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:37 am

Hello,
YourKit UI is running, Eclipse is running, both on my local Mac. When I try to run my Java app in Eclipse by clicking YourKit icon in toolbar, then Profile As, it always just says "(none applicable)". I have tried restarting both YourKit UI and Eclipse a few times. I can successfully run my app via Eclipse "Run", then let YourKit UI connect to it, but your documentation says there are limitations in profiling this way. What could be causing this?

Profile Configuration tab in Eclipse for my app has "automatically launch the profiler UI" and "startup with CPU profiling" both enabled.

Versions are Eclipse Luna, Yourkit 2017.02, YourKit Java Profiler 2017.02-b75 Plugin

thanks, Jim
JimF
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:37 am

Hello Jim

What type of run configuration is that?
What Eclipse version/flavor do you have?

Please note that YourKit Java Profiler 2017.02 is no longer supported. Please use the latest release YourKit Java Profiler 2018.04.

Best regards,
Anton
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby JimF » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:17 pm

> What type of run configuration is that?
It's a Java app, Oracle JRE 1.8.0_152

Arguments:
-Xmx1024m
-Djava.library.path=../mid-dist-universal/dist/skeleton/lib
-Djava.util.logging.config.file=../mid-dist-universal/dist/skeleton-filtered/properties/glide.properties
-Dmid.probe.resource.dir=../mid-dist-universal/dist/skeleton/lib
-Dsun.net.maxDatagramSockets=65535

> What Eclipse version/flavor do you have?
Eclipse Luna 4.4.2 running on Mac OS X Sierra

> Please use the latest release YourKit Java Profiler 2018.04
Unfortunately my license key does not work with that version.
JimF
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:25 pm

Could you please send to support@yourkit.com
- screenshot of what you see (the "non-applicable" message)
- screenshot of your run configuration settings
- logs from ~/.yjp/log
- file ~/.yjp/ide2014.txt
- Eclipse log (accessible from "Help | About Eclipse").
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:01 am

It's a Java app, Oracle JRE 1.8.0_152


Is it command-line Java app which has main() method? What is the type of run configuration?

Best regards,
Vladimir Kondratyev
YourKit GmbH
http://www.yourkit.com
"Don't get lost in data, get information!"
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby JimF » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:20 pm

Hello Vladimir ,
Yes, it is a command line app with main() method. Run configuration type is Java application. Detailed screens shots of the config tabs are attached to 2 emails email which Anton requested.
JimF
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Anton Katilin » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:05 pm

Thank you. We've answered your email.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby JimF » Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:14 pm

Reinstalling YourKit plugin or starting Eclipse -clean didn't solve it, but I found a workaround which did solve it:

Find Main.java in Eclipse Project Explorer, right click on it, choose Profile As, which correctly shows 'Java Application'. After that the toolbar YourKit icon > Profile As now correctly shows 'Java Application' instead of '(none applicable)'.
JimF
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Jul 03, 2018 7:57 am

Cool. Thank you for sharing this hint.

Does the effect persist after you restart Eclipse, or do you have to do this trick again and again?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby JimF » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:12 am

It's been quite a long time since I used YourKit, but started using this week and hit this same issue again, but now with YourKit 2019.1 and Eclipse Oxygen 4.7.3. My workaround it my last post above works for the YourKit icon in toolbar, but I cannot get Profile menu options to show in the Eclipse Run and Debug toolbar dropdown menus, so I think I have no way to profile when using Eclipse in debugger mode.
JimF
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:21 am

Re: Eclipse>Yourkit>Profile As: always says "none applicable

Postby Anton Katilin » Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:27 am

There is no way to use "Debug" and "Profile" actions simultaneously, they are mutually exclusive.

To profile with debugging please manually specify appropriate -agentpath VM option and use "Debug". The simplest way to get the option is to use the "Profile local..." action on the profiler Welcome screen and choose "Other Java application".
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron