Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

[EAP 606] Help in firefox

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

[EAP 606] Help in firefox

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 10:13 am

When I select Help->YourKit Java Profiler Help I get an alert in firefox saying "d is not a registered protocol". After a bit of testing I think the problem is that you are sending the file path to the browser instead of a url.
If for instance I type "d:/somefile.html" into the url box of firefox, I get the protocol error dialog. If I type the real url for this ("file:///d:/somefile.html") everything works fine. The file path thing works fine in IE, but not in firefox (and probably mozilla, maybe others).
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed May 25, 2005 12:41 pm

1) What is FF version?
2) What is the full path to profiler installation directory? Does the path contain some natinal (localized) characters?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 12:47 pm

- Firefox 1.0.4
- D:\java\YourKit Java Profiler 4.5 EAP build 606
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed May 25, 2005 12:58 pm

Works fine in our environment. What is output of "ver" command?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Postby Anton Katilin » Wed May 25, 2005 12:58 pm

Works fine here.
What is your Windows version?
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 1:45 pm

NT 4 SP6a
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 1:50 pm

To verify my hunch I set IE back as my default browser. This works fine, but the address bar is showing "D:\java\YourKit Java Profiler 4.5 EAP build 606\docs\help\index.html" as url.
I still think it might be safer to use a file:// url instead of the file path (possibly using File#toURI() ? )
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 2:00 pm

I just exported a tree to HTML. When I press the button to open the results in a browser, I get the same error in Firefox.
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed May 25, 2005 2:16 pm

Please try set FF as a default browser and use the following command from console:

Code: Select all
rundll32 url.dll,FileProtocolHandler file:///D:/java/YourKit Java Profiler 4.5 EAP build 606/docs/help/index.html


I suppose that you''ll get an error
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 2:17 pm

Indeed. I get the exact same error.
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby Anton Katilin » Wed May 25, 2005 2:26 pm

Could you please try whether syntax with // instead of /// works for you:

Code: Select all
rundll32 url.dll,FileProtocolHandler file://D:/java/YourKit Java Profiler 4.5 EAP build 606/docs/help/index.html
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed May 25, 2005 2:29 pm

Or does

Code: Select all
rundll32 url.dll,FileProtocolHandler D:/java/YourKit Java Profiler 4.5 EAP build 606/docs/help/index.html


work?
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 2:37 pm

Both give that same error.
In the mean time I found the following comment at http://ostermiller.org/utils/Browser.html:
Windows - Opens the url in the system browser by calling a url.dll that can open the url using FileProtocolHandler. This dll fails to open file urls with spaces. In that case, a url shortcut is written to the hard drive, and the shortcut is then opened.

Unfortunately the code is GPL so it's probably of no use for you guys.
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Postby Anton Katilin » Wed May 25, 2005 3:22 pm

Thank you for the link.

It is said something is wrong with spaces in path, but are no problems with spaces in file path for me. Also you say you have no problems running IE. So I suppose there's something incorrect in NT behaviour (I use WinXP).

Could you please try to install the profiler into directory without spaces, to see if it makes any difference.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Postby pepijnve » Wed May 25, 2005 3:40 pm

No luck with a directory without spaces...
pepijnve
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Next

Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron

YourKit uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from.

By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies in accordance with the Privacy Policy.