Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Performance monitoring and profiling of Jenkins, TeamCity, Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

classes on the command line

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

classes on the command line

Postby joebob2442 » Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:50 pm

I'm about to start an evaluation and was wondering what I should include for the FooClass portion of the command line. Should this be the main Java class for my application or should it be a list of classes I want to track. I'm hoping to see all of the application classes in the output so I can get a feel for what all the tool is trapping. Just wanted to see what should be here.

Can't use the GUI as I'm running/evaulating Java 1.3.

Joe-Bob
joebob2442
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: Fairfax, VA

Postby Vladimir Kondratyev » Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:19 am

Profiler UI requires JDK 1.4.2 or higher. You can install JDK 1.4.2 (in addition to installed 1.3.1) to run profiler UI and analyze captured snapshots.
Vladimir Kondratyev
 
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Postby joebob2442 » Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:46 pm

Unfortunately, I am in a test environment that I don't have reasonable control over (getting them to let me use this took forever). Whenever I bring up installing a newer version of Java, I get a reply that goes along the lines that they aren't ready to upgarde Java on this test server. Forget the fact that they can work independant of one another... :roll: .

That aside, I'm fine having to play around in command line mode b/c sometime in the near future, I'll have my own box with full control. Until then, I wanted to evaluate the level of info & detail yourkit will produce (I can review the logs on my desktop post run). I like it b/c it's lite and something we could permanently code into an app so we could run it in a production environment if we see issues (hopefully in the future, we won't as we will finally do some profiling before releasing code to production :? ).

JB
joebob2442
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: Fairfax, VA

Postby mathers » Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:04 pm

You dont need to run the GUI on the same machine than the tested application if net connecton is avaiable., so you can use the GUI outside the test environment.
mathers
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:21 pm

Postby joebob2442 » Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:31 pm

that's cool. I was planning on viewing the results post testing but this will be nice then to do it real time. Hmmm... for an eval license, could I do this (install 2 seperate copies of YourKit, one on my local machine for monitoring and one on my server where the java is running).

Aside from this, back to my original question, Which class do I need to supply to get all class information. Just my main one where everything spawns from or do I need to include every class I want to track? Or, is this controllable from the GUI?

JB
joebob2442
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:45 pm
Location: Fairfax, VA


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

YourKit uses cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from.

By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies in accordance with the Privacy Policy.