Fully featured low overhead profiler for Java EE and Java SE platforms.
Ultimate profiling and monitoring solution for Gradle, Maven, Ant, JUnit and TestNG.
Easy to use performance and memory profiler for .NET framework.

Mnimum Probe Overhead

Moderators: Vladimir Kondratyev, Anton Katilin

Mnimum Probe Overhead

Postby aedwards » Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:41 pm

Hi there,

I am using the agent headless and specifying the settings on the command line. I would like to configure a bunch of runs that capture different information but ideally are as low impact as possible. The profiler is profiling an application running in tomcat.

I can disable most things for cpu profiling using these settings =disableall,delay=30000,sampling

Is there a way I can capture database (& later sevlet) probe info with minimum instrumentation overhead? The only settings I have so far are =disablealloc,disableexceptiontelemetry,disablestacktelemetry,probe_disable=*,probe_on=com.yourkit.probes.builtin.Databases,delay=30000,tracing but this batters the CPU right from the get go.

In addition is allocsampled the same idea as cpu sampling vs instrumentation?
aedwards
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: Mnimum Probe Overhead

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:33 pm

Which version of the profiler do you use?

Please try the following (it's your line with sampling instead of tracing):

=disablealloc,disableexceptiontelemetry,disablestacktelemetry,probe_disable=*,probe_on=.Databases,delay=30000,sampling
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5575
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Mnimum Probe Overhead

Postby Anton Katilin » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:36 pm

> In addition is allocsampled the same idea as cpu sampling vs instrumentation?
Almost.
The difference is how the stack traces are obtained, explicitly for each allocated object or approximately by using a sampling approach.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5575
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Mnimum Probe Overhead

Postby aedwards » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:18 pm

Thanks

That did the trick. It's not clear from the docs that you can run the probes in sampling mode, the docs on the probes talk about byte code instrumentation so I assumed I had to run it with that on.
aedwards
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: Mnimum Probe Overhead

Postby Anton Katilin » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:20 pm

Indeed, probes can be combined with any other profiling mode.
Anton Katilin
 
Posts: 5575
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:37 am


Return to Java Profiler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron